Frequently Asked Questions

Why can't I release more than five messages in Proofpoint?

If you try to release and or safelist more than five messages, you will receive the following error: 

spam.huit.harvard.edu says: 

Release and Allow Sender : Cannot be performed on more than 5 message/messages.

This is a setting maintained by Proofpoint in order to insure that you do not release spam or phishing messages into your in box. This setting cannot be changed.

Is Yammer supported?

While members of the Harvard Community are free to take advantage of Yammer, please be aware that HUIT does not offer support for it.

How do I move my personal or departmental files to OneDrive or SharePoint?

If you're looking to migrate personal or departmental data/files from your computer, Dropbox, Google Drive, Network Share/s to your OneDrive, SharePoint Site or Group there are 3 basic ways to move your data:

  1. Drag and drop to OneDrive in your browser
  2. Open in explorer view (Windows only) and drag and drop into your OneDrive folder
  3. OneDrive Sync

These methods are covered...

Read more about How do I move my personal or departmental files to OneDrive or SharePoint?

My attachments sent to Mac users from Outlook turn into winmail.dat files. Why can't they open them?

This is due to Outlook decrypting the file in RTF format. To avoid this issue you may change your Outlook settings by following these instructions:

  1. Open up your Outlook email client.
  2. Click on File located in the upper toolbar.
  3. Select the Options setting.
  4. From here, select the Mail category.
  5. Now, under Compose messages, you want to ensure the HTML or Plain Text option is...
Read more about My attachments sent to Mac users from Outlook turn into winmail.dat files. Why can't they open them?

What happens to my data in Office 365 when I leave the University?

If you are a staff member, your Office 365 data is immediately deleted on the day you leave the University. This includes your email, calendar, contacts and OneDrive files (including documents you've shared).  Documents stored in a Team Site (SharePoint) or Office365 Group will not be deleted.  Prior to your departure from the University you should coordinate with your manager and provide copies of any and all business critical documents stored in your OneDrive or email.  Your account is recoverable for a period no greater than 30 days from the date your...

Read more about What happens to my data in Office 365 when I leave the University?

What happens to items I delete from SharePoint?

List items as well as documents, pages and entire sites go to the SharePoint recycle bin after deletion.  The user who originally deleted an item can restore them from their recycle bin for 93 days after the original deletion.

Please note the SharePoint recycle bin is not related to the Windows recycle bin.