What happens to items I delete from SharePoint?

List items as well as documents, pages and entire sites go to the SharePoint recycle bin after deletion.  The user who originally deleted an item can restore them from their recycle bin for 93 days after the original deletion.

Please note the SharePoint recycle bin is not related to the Windows recycle bin.