Spam Filtering

How do I delete messages from my Quarantine?

The system automatically manages the messages in your Quarantine and purges them after 30 days. If you've reviewed your messages and are certain you don't need to retrieve any, you may purge your quarantine yourself by choosing Delete All from the Options menu.

Do I need to clean out the messages in my personal Quarantine?

The system automatically manages the messages in your Quarantine. Messages are purged from the system after 30 days. If you've reviewed your messages and are certain you don't need to retrieve any, you may purge your quarantine yourself by choosing Delete All from the Options menu.

How long are suspect messages held in quarantine?

Messages are held in quarantine for your review for 30 days. After 30 days, messages are purged from the system and there is no way to retrieve them. We recommend that you review your quarantined messages periodically, either in your End User Digests or by logging on to the Proofpoint Web Console.

Why did I get a notification that someone sent me a large message?

Our email systems cannot accept messages/attachments larger than about 25MB. Messages that would have otherwise been rejected by the email systems and returned to the senders are held on Proofpoint for 30 days to give you a chance to retrieve any wanted attachments via your Web Console. 

Why did Proofpoint remove the attachment from my message?

Sending of executable files (.exe, .msi, .bat, etc) through our email systems has been restricted per University Information Security to protect your mailbox and Harvard's network resources from being damaged by email-borne viruses and malware.

Your colleagues and collaborators should be able to send you documents, spreadsheets, PDFs and the like through email without impediment, but other types of files may be quarantined for further inspection if the system cannot automatically determine whether they pose security threats.