Unified Groups are exactly what they sound like, groups that incorporate features from various O365 products in one unified feature. These groups have simplified and stripped down functionalities designed to make self management more simple, at the cost of customizability. They include a group Distribution List, Calendar, SharePoint Site and can be self managed and created.
A restricted link is only valid for individuals who have been granted permissions to a resource.
For example, if the resource is shared with A, B, and C, and you send this link to D, D will not be able to access this resource.
This can be very helpful for when you are trying to avoid having an individual wait for an invitation to the resource, you can simply give them access, and send them the link to the resource in a personal email. It also is useful for sharing sensitive information, even if someone obtains a link to the resource, they will not be able to access it
On Friday, August 5, HUIT successfully performed a major upgrade to the Office 365 authentication engine. This upgrade changed the look of the login pages, improved security and added several important product features. You will notice a different login page when you sign into Office 365.
If you're looking to migrate personal or departmental data/files from your computer, DropBox, Google Drive, Network Share/s to your OneDrive, SharePoint Site or Group there are 3 basic ways to move your data:
Drag and drop to OneDrive in your browser
Open in explorer view (Windows only) and drag and drop into your OneDrive folder
When you leave Harvard your Office 365 data is immediately deleted. This includes your email, calendar, contacts and OneDrive files (including documents you've shared). Documents stored in a Team Site (SharePoint) or Office365 Group will not be deleted. Prior to your departure from the University you should coordinate with your manager and provide copies of any and all business critical documents stored in your OneDrive or email. Your account is recoverable for a period no greater than 30 days from the date your affiliation with the University ends.
List items as well as documents, pages and entire sites go to the SharePoint recycle bin after deletion. The user who originally deleted an item can restore them from their recycle bin for 93 days after the original deletion.
Please note the SharePoint recycle bin is not related to the Windows recycle bin.
When you are trying to log in to Office.com you should always select the "Work or school account" option instead of the "Microsoft account" option. If you select the Microsoft account option you won't have access to your Harvard data.